Okay Pinterest, You Win, Let’s Plan a Wedding


When I was first invited to Pinterest a while back I thought, ‘sweet I’m part of the in crowd!’ and then immediately after looking at dozens of pictures of cute shoes was like, ‘now what the hell do I do?’ Well ya’ll, I’ve finally come to see why Pinterest and Facebook would be so integral to my female life: I’m engaged bitches! He liked it, so he put a ring on it. (I’ve been waiting so long to say that to you.)

In all seriousness, Matti and I have pretty much been engaged since I was stumbling around Picadilly Circus in London wondering how I got separated from my roommates. These roommates were quick to point this out to me yesterday (we group text because that’s hip):

“I still count the first time with us in London though.”

“Yay totally right before she got lost in Picadilly Circus.”

Thanks for the memories, guys. But after that “engagement” I wore a 2 dollar metal ring on my ring finger until the blue stain on my skin was thicker than the ring itself. Now I got myself a real life adult diamond ring. I cannot help the feeling that I should be dancing in a Beyoncé video — B, holla at a girl. I at least now understand why everyone’s always writing songs about diamonds.

photoring

I’ve seen a lot of people that put out these elaborate engagement announcement cards which I think is fine if you’re really into making cards but I am not. Writing a thank you card, in my eyes, is equitable to running on a treadmill for an hour straight. (Don’t get me wrong I’m super athletic I just don’t like to ever prove it to myself or anyone else.) This is why Facebook is the best. All I had to do was snap a photo of my hand looking elegantly slender in my new diamond and blue sapphire engagement ring, post it on the FB and blamo, everyone knows I’m engaged! (Not to mention over a hundred people liked it which, let’s face it, I never knew I had that many friends). So thank you Facebook and thank you “Like” button for validating my life choices and making me look like I have a ton of friends! Weddings already rock!

pinterest weddingOn to you, Pinterest. I won’t lie, when I was invited to Pinterest I used it for like, a day and then forgot about it. I had like three pins. I’m not too embarrassed of my neglectful “board” making skills but now I understand the charm of the site. Er meh Gerrd. I just want to have a virtual Pinterest wedding. Can I do that, Pinterest gods?

It’s so unfair because there’s no way I can recreate this scene. Look at all the mismatched chairs — it’s so ironically beautiful, or something. And what is that, moss as the centerpiece place mats? Who thinks of this shit. It’s amazing and I want it all. I’ve never wanted to have a party in an old rustic barn as much as I do now. Just like Footloose. Thanks a lot, Pinterest.

This social media craziness is perfect for me too because I live in Austin but everyone I know and love is basically somewhere else with the exception of like five people. Massachusetts, New York, LA, Austin; all my peoples are spread out. How does one deal with this? Someone give me advice. Okay, I have to go now guys, I’m super busy, I have a wedding to plan. More self-indulgent wedding related posts to come, I’m sure.

How do you use Pinterest? Are you a fan? Do you know a cheap wedding photographer? What about good wedding venues? Do they have wedding groupons? Help me.

Dpchallenge

11 responses to “Okay Pinterest, You Win, Let’s Plan a Wedding

  1. Woah there. It’s time to sift through ten thousand photos of mason jar vases and lace wedding dresses. No big deal – it’s going to be awesome. Congratulations!!

  2. Thank you! Literally, I’ve already seen a thousand pics of mason jar vases. I should probably just have a mason jar themed wedding all around.

  3. She’s right – it’s gonna be awesome. When people like you plan weddings, they’re the bestest. For now, I say: devour the images like they’re candy! For later, I say: http://www.save-on-crafts.com/ (Most of my wedding came from here, saving us a bundle).

    Congratu-freaking-lations on being in love and rocking a pretty new bauble!

    • Thank you thank you thank you! So far, it’s definitely awesome. I am wholeheartedly taking your advice — Pinterest has never been so fun. I checked out those sites too and save on crafts is ridiculous. Amazing. I can’t wait to get into all of it more. Thank you so much for recommending those sites, I’ll take all the resources I can get! How many guests did you have at your wedding if you don’t mind me asking?

  4. Also: apracticalwedding.com and offbeatbride.com were my wedding gurus, and I still read them ’cause they go so far beyond weddings into relationships, marriage equality, family life, and, and, and…

  5. Congratulations on the engagement! I just wanted to share that I, too, had my bestest friends spread out all over the globe when I got married. The worst thing was that none of them had the funds to attend my wedding, no matter how advance a notice I gave them. The ones who could make it were a delight and the ones who couldn’t sent awesome presents in lieu of their presence. I’m not sure if Weddingful is available in your area, but they would be the Groupon of weddings you asked for. I also used WeddingWire to organize all my stuff – you might find them useful too. <—free service, btw. I wrote a few wedding posts on my blog. Feel free to contact me with any questions… my contact info can be found also in my blog. Good luck with the planning! ~M.

    http://redesignedbym.wordpress.com/

    • Wow, thank you so much for all those great recommendations! And yeah, I’m definitely planning my guest list around the area I’m having the wedding because I’m still not sure if I wanna have it in Austin or around the Boston area. We shall see. Can’t wait to check out those sites — I was totally joking about the wedding groupon and you just blew my mind with Weddingful! So cool. I’ll have to stop by your blog as well. Thanks again!

  6. Congrats on the engagement!! Not sure when you are thinking of tying the knot, but if you find a good, relatively inexpensive wedding photographer, I’m looking for one too, so I’d love any suggestions.
    I also really have been enjoying your writing style which is very conversational and I can actually hear you telling these stories (even though I have no idea what you sound like). I feel like my writing style is (trying) to be similar, and I would totally appreciate any feedback, as it seems like you’ve been doing this a bit longer than I have! I am also newly engaged (well waiting on the ring to be completed so he can actually do the asking), looking for a job and moving to Ann Arbor from Baltimore later this summer.
    http://nextstoptbd.wordpress.com

    • Wow, girl, you got a lot going on! Thanks so much for the kind words. My fiancée and I were in the same situation with ring stuff, finally I picked it out and made it happen. I’d love to check out your blog and offer any advice I can. Honestly, being a sarcastic asshole is just how I am — it just took some work to turn that into a voice and style that wasn’t completely off-putting and offensive. Ha.
      We were thinking of having a friend be our photographer but then realized he probably wouldn’t want to worry about taking pics all night so we’re in the same boat there. Congrats to you on your engagement as well and look forward to checking out your writing!

Tell me about it, stud

